South America

List of all 12 countries in South America

This continent occupies all the southern part of the American supercontinent, so it is called South America. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean by the west, the Atlantic Ocean by the east and north, the Caribbean Sea by the northwest and connected to North America by the northeast. A land border between two continents extends along the Panamanian border.

In total, there are twelve independent countries and 3 dependent territories in South America. Brazil is the largest and most populous country. It occupies about 50% of the total area and more than 52% of the population lives on its territory. The smallest independent state is Suriname, the only country in the region that speaks Dutch as an official language.

The most visited attractions of the South American countries are Brazil, Argentina and Peru, the most famous tourist attractions of Machu Picchu, the mysterious city of the Incas.